Connect with us


AAC to allow intraconference transfers without penalty

Array ( [0] => [1] => 550 [2] => 367 [3] => 1 )

The American Athletic Conference is doing away with its policy that required athletes to sit out a year and lose a season of eligibility if they transferred from one AAC campus to another.

The change is effective immediately and was agreed to by a unanimous vote of AAC athletic directors, the conference said Tuesday.

“This is an important decision that is in the best interests of our student-athletes,” commissioner Mike Aresco said in a news release. “It will align the conference’s position on transfers with the expected significant change to the NCAA policy.”

The Mid-American and Atlantic Coast conferences recently enacted similar policy changes.

The NCAA Division I Council is expected to vote soon to allow athletes to transfer once without having to sit out for a year, which has been the standard.

The AAC is made up of 11 teams: Cincinnati, East Carolina, Houston, Memphis, South Florida, SMU, Temple, Tulane, Tulsa, UCF and Wichita State.

–Field Level Media

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports

    Must See