Connect with us


Rocket League Championship Series expanding to Asia and Africa

Array ( [0] => [1] => 550 [2] => 310 [3] => 1 )

Rocket League Championship Series is tapping into its worldwide appeal for the 2021-22 season, adding three new regions while revamping the RLCS format.

The upcoming season will have both an Asia-Pacific North and an Asia-Pacific South region. There will also be a new Middle East & North Africa region. The three regions will be added to the existing North America, South America, Europe and Oceania regions.

The three new regions will be fully recognized and will be invited to compete in the season splits and in the world championship in July. Fall, Winter and Spring Splits will be contested once again in 2021-22 with a different format for each.

In addition, RLCS will support splits in Sub-Saharan Africa for the first time, though the region won’t be a full participant. Sub-Saharan Africa will have two guaranteed slots at the Rocket League World Championship Wildcard.

The Regional and Major in each Split will have 16 teams and points will be used from those events to qualify for the world championship. There will also be a 16-team world championship that consists of eight automatic qualifiers and eight teams that come from a wild-card bracket.

The world championship will be conducted in a Swiss format, which has a set number of rounds but is not a true round robin. Pairings for each round are set after the previous round is complete.

The RLCS Fall Split will begin Oct. 15 and conclude with the Dec. 8-12 Major. The Winter Split starts Jan. 14 and concludes March 24-27, while the Spring Split opens April 29 and will be completed June 30-July 3.

RLCS 2021-22 intends to return to in-person events starting with the Fall Major at Stockholm, Sweden.

–Field Level Media

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports

    Must See