Connect with us


NCAAF: Big 12: Kansas State AD replaces Texas AD on CFP selection committee

Array ( [0] => [1] => 354 [2] => 450 [3] => 1 )

The eventual departures of Texas and Oklahoma from the Big 12 have prompted the conference to change its representative on the College Football Playoff selection committee.

The Big 12 announced Wednesday that Kansas State athletic director Gene Taylor will replace Texas AD Chris Del Conte on the committee.

Taylor will serve a three-year team on the committee that selects which teams participate in the CFP.

“I am grateful to be selected to serve on the CFP Selection Committee, and I look forward to this exciting opportunity,” Taylor said in a statement. “I appreciate the Big 12 nominating me. The committee has a very important job to select the best football teams, and I am thrilled to be a part of this process.”

Del Conte had been appointed to a three-year term in January but the landscape changed with last month’s decisions of Texas and Oklahoma to eventually leave the Big 12 to become members of the SEC. He reportedly opted to withdraw due to conflicting interests created by the school’s announcements.

CFP executive director Bill Hancock was fine with the switch.

“Gene is well respected and will be an excellent member of the committee,” Hancock said. “We look forward to welcoming him to the group.”

–Field Level Media

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports

    Must See