Connect with us


Six Sounders make 28-player MLS All-Star roster

Array ( [0] => [1] => 550 [2] => 392 [3] => 1 )

The Seattle Sounders will be represented by a league-high six players when the MLS All-Stars face Liga MX All-Stars on Aug. 25 in Los Angeles.

The MLS released its roster on Wednesday for the contest at Banc of California Stadium. The 28-player roster consists of 13 selections voted in by a combination of fans, players and media; 13 more by Los Angeles FC coach Bob Bradley; and two by MLS commissioner Don Garber.

Forward Raul Ruidiaz, who has an MLS-best 11 goals, is one of the six Seattle selections. He is joined by defenders Yeimar Gomez Andrade, Alex Roldan and Nouhou Tolo, plus midfielders Joao Paulo and Cristian Roldan.

LAFC star forwards Carlos Vela and Diego Rossi are two of four selections from the host team. The others are midfielder Eduard Atuesta and defender Jesus David Murillo.

Selected from the Los Angeles Galaxy are star forward Javier “Chicharito” Hernandez (10 goals) and defender Julian Araujo.

The MLS-best New England Revolution have four players on the squad. Star forward Gustavo Bou (10 goals) and elite midfielder Carles Gil (league-best 15 assists) highlight the selections that also include goalkeeper Matt Turner and forward Tajon Buchanan.

Buchanan was one of Garber’s two choices. The other was 17-year-old Cade Cowell, the emerging star forward of the San Jose Earthquakes.

Fifteen of the MLS’ 27 teams have at least one player on the roster.

Liga MX released its All-Star roster last month.


Goalkeepers: Pedro Gallese (Orlando City)^, Matt Turner (New England Revolution)*.

Defenders: Julian Araujo (LA Galaxy)*, Yeimar Gómez Andrade (Seattle Sounders)^, Jesus Murillo (Los Angeles FC)*, Nouhou Tolo (Seattle Sounders)^, Miles Robinson (Atlanta United)*, Alex Roldan (Seattle Sounders)^, James Sands (New York City FC)*, Kai Wagner (Philadelphia Union)*, Walker Zimmerman (Nashville)^.

Midfielders: Eduard Atuesta (LAFC)*, Carles Gil (New England Revolution)^, Damir Kreilach (Real Salt Lake)*, João Paulo (Seattle Sounders)^, Emanuel Reynoso (Minnesota United)*, Cristian Roldan (Seattle Sounders)^, Lucas Zelarayan (Columbus Crew)^.

Forwards: Gustavo Bou (New England Revolution)*, Tajon Buchanan (New England Revolution)#, Cade Cowell (San Jose Earthquakes)#, Javier “Chicharito” Hernández (LA Galaxy)^, Nani (Orlando City SC)^, Ricardo Pepi (FC Dallas)*, Diego Rossi (LAFC)*, Raúl Ruidíaz (Sounders FC)^, Daniel Sallói (Sporting Kansas City)*, Carlos Vela (LAFC)^.

^–Fan, player, media vote
*–Bob Bradley selection
#–Commissioner Don Garber selection

–Field Level Media

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Sports

    Must See